Skip to content

Welcome to user management in OpenDialog! This guide shows you how to add and manage team members in your workspace. Your workspace starts with one user account, and you can easily add more team members as needed.

To enable your team members to access the workspace, you will have to add them as users on your OpenDialog account.

To do this, click on your name, the three dots next to it, and then click on User Management. Once there, click the Create button at the top right, complete the form, and click Create.

The user creation screen

Once you’ve set up the new user account, you need to notify the user directly since no email is automatically sent to inform them of the account setup.

Instruct the user to:

  • Visit cloud.opendialog.ai
  • Click on the ‘I forgot my password’ link and enter their email
  • Await an email, then follow the instructions to set up their password and log in to the platform.

To update user details, such as to change their role, go to the User Management page within the application and click the pencil icon next to the user you want to edit. From this screen you can amend the user’s name and their role.

The user editing screen

To remove a user from your instance, go to the User Management page within the application and click ‘X’ next to the user you want to remove. Then, click ‘Yes’ on the pop-up, and the user will be removed.

User profile - Delete/Edit buttons

OpenDialog uses a role-based access control system to manage access within workspaces. This system ensures that users have access only to the tools and information they need, based on their assigned roles.

Roles and access levels in OpenDialog are managed on a per-workspace basis. This means a user can have different roles across different workspaces. Each role provides access to different parts of the platform, depending on the responsibilities typically associated with that role.

Users with the Admin role have full control over the workspace. They can:

  • Access both the Analyse and Preview features for all scenarios.
  • Manage all workspace resources, including scenarios, language services, and dynamic attributes.
  • Create, view, update, and delete any user within the workspace.

Editors have access to all the tools needed to build and maintain content within the workspace. They can:

  • Access the Analyse and Preview features for all scenarios.
  • Manage workspace resources such as scenarios, language services, and dynamic attributes.
  • They cannot manage users.

This role is intended for users who only need to test scenarios. They can:

  • Access the Preview feature for all scenarios.
  • They cannot access Analyse, manage resources or users.

This role is suitable for users who need to review conversation data. They can:

  • Access the Analyse feature for all scenarios.
  • They cannot access Preview, manage resources, or users.

This role is intended for users who only need to test scenarios and review conversation data. They can:

  • Access both the Analyse and Preview features for all scenarios.
  • They cannot manage resources or users.

To protect user accounts and prevent unauthorised access or manipulation, OpenDialog enforces rules around user management. This ensures:

  • They can create, read, update*, or delete any user within the workspace.
  • They can read and update* only their own user profile.

*When updating a user:

  • Users cannot assign roles to themselves, even when editing their own profile. This prevents someone from elevating their own access to Admin.
  • Users cannot change login credentials for other users, preventing impersonation or unauthorised access.